Domain Name ideas: Feedback

Assignment 1: Online Publication & Promotion, Professional Development

Taking my favourite names in the list in the previous list and I sent them to my tutor in order to get some opinions on how to develop my domain names, seeing if they work or if they do not work as well.

ToonMootion:

My main question is what is the significance of the Moo in Mootion, such a specific reference to a cow leaves me to think whether this should factor into the design or not,

The name is memorable, however it sounds a little like of a piece of software rather than a singular animating entity,

The name was easy to pronounce,

The name did interest me, however in the “oh a new piece of software” kind of way, it intrigued me for new tech you could say,

I like the sketchy and traditional approach to your logo as that is a popular trend amongst animators.

domain_name_v1

I designed this logo above to go with this domain name idea, however although I liked the idea, I think the name fell flat and like the feedback suggests it seems more like a piece of software than anything else. So I will not be using this name based on the feedback that I was given.

Other domain name feedback

  • SandersSketches – This is my favorite one out of the bunch, it’s catchy, alliterative and says what it is on the tin, we know what we are going to get, this gives a more accurate and professional impression of your approach to your work
  • DanimatedArtbox – Too many parts to this name, not simple enough, Artbox infers that this is more fine art based, plus Danimation and any varients of this are so popular, you have to stand out from the crowd!
  • DanimatedToons – Same as above, however you have two references to animation here, this is overloading your domain name unecessarily
  • SandersArtBox – Same problems as DanimatedArtbox, however this is better as it is simple, more focussed

Looking at this feedback I can see that although some of the names are simple in there own way, some are hard to pronounce or do not achieve that effective interest that I thought they did. But there is one name that seems to have grabbed the attention of my peers which is “SandersSketches”. I like this name because it contains my personal surname and the type of art I do a lot of. I think this name could be quite interesting as a domain because of its simplicity and professional impression it makes. Therefore I need to develop this name with a logo to help make the brand identifiable to the others out there.

Leave a comment